Book Now

Call/email us or submit enquiry below

The Bank House B&B Dornoch Logo
Home Cottages & Prices Local Information Gallery

SHARE

Share on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share on Google Bookmarks
Share via e-mail

Contact  Us Directly…

Telephone 01408 634300


stay@milnclarin.co.uk

Broom and Burn Cottages Enlarge photo of twin beds in self catering accommodation Enlarge entrance to Broom and Burn Cottages
Enlarge Self Catering Kitchen photo

Laundry Road

Lairg

Sutherland, IV27 4DE

Owner Contact Details:


Jeanette Johnston

Woodside

Station Road

Golspie

Sutherland KW10 6SR


01408-634300

#prices

Broom and Burn Holiday Cottages, Lairg


Self Catering Accommodation in Lairg – a central location with wonderful views of Loch Shin

Broom and Burn Cottages are spacious, comfortable self catering holiday homes in Sutherland, perfect for visitors wishing to discover, explore or revisit this special part of the Highlands of Scotland. Set in 3 acres of their own land with an attractive burn (stream) running into Loch Shin, guaranteeing the peace and freedom you are looking for in a Scottish Highland holiday.  

Burn Cottage has a Four Star Self catering grading from the Scottish Tourist Board.  The two identical cottages are fully equipped with every home comfort and have ample storage space.

Each cottage has one double and one twin bedroom, and sleeps up to four adults, with a cot and mattress also available.

The well-appointed kitchen, dining area and large living room open through patio doors to a tranquil view over the small village of Lairg to Loch Shin and the hills of Sutherland.


The Peace of the Highlands...


Broom and Burn Self catering Cottages are located on a quiet side road, just off Lairg’s main street. A short, easy walk (less than 5 minutes) takes you to the shops including a bank, mini-supermarket, restaurant and cafe..


Loading...
Large Scale Interiors Local Area

Why Milnclarin Holiday Homes?


The name Milnclarin was chosen as this is the name of the original croft land on which the cottages now sit. We have not managed to establish a direct Gaelic translation for the word Milnclarin, but the “Mill” part certainly relates to a meal mill which was on the west of the site just down from the Church, and the millstones were turned by water drawn from a small stream or burn which still runs down the north boundary of the croft land.”. Our ancestor Alexander Graham settled in Lairg around 1800 as crofter and miller at Milnclarin.  The mill fell into disuse around 1885, but the land on which the cottages sit has now remained in our family for over 200 years.